Penwaaq L nu k

Mide-Wiigwas - Eight Pointed Star

The Mikmaq have an eight-pointed star that signifies Sol, the sun while holds great significance in traditional spirituality. This petroglyph was an eight-point star, a symbol that is very important to the Lnuk. And it is believed that the eight-point petroglyph found in Nova Scotia in 1983 is over 500 years old.

The eight-point star is the updated version of the seven-point star; which the Lnu'k used to represent the seven districts of their nation. The Lnuk nation grew to eight districts with the addition of Ktaqmkuk (Newfoundland). And the Mikmaq/Lnuk updated the star to eight-points to welcome their brothers and sisters from Newfoundland.

The eight-pointed star is often shown in four different colours: red, black, white and yellow. These four colours together represent balance with oneself and Mother Earth, also today respresenting harmony and unity between the four races of people. The number four is of great significance to the Mi'kmaq.

The four colours also represent the four directions for Ktaqmkuk.

  • white represents north,
  • red represents south,
  • yellow represents east and
  • black represent west.

    The eight-point Lnu'k star is used today not only as a cultural symbol, but also as a design emblem. Many Mikmaq artists use the symbol to decorate their blankets, baskets, drums, moccasins and anything else that can decorated.

    For thousands of years the Lnu'k have been traditionaly celebrating the eight-point star as a symbol for their nation.

    You will see the eight pointed star in and around Benoit First Nation facilities as well as in outher Mi'kmaq communities throughout Mi'kma'ki.

    Eight Pointed Star

    Grand Council Flag

    Symbolism of the Benoit clan flag

    Lnu'k/Mi'kmaq rules of Protocol

    Lnu'k/Mi'kmaq rules of Ethics & Principles

    Lnu'k/Benoit First Nation Band Logo

    Lnu'k/Meaning of the 8 Pointed Star

    Copyright © 2005 Benoit First Nation